McGinnis Award

The IEEE AUTOTESTCON Frank McGinnis Professional Achievement Award is given in the memory of the late Frank McGinnis of the Sperry Corporation, who was instrumental in bringing military automated test to the forefront of visibility for government and industry alike.  Mr. McGinnis founded the Navy Ad Hoc ATE Project for the Navy in 1975, under National Security Industrial Association (NSIA) leadership, to examine and recommend to the Navy a program of research and development to help increase the competency levels of automated test.  This led to a Joint Services ATE Project that started in 1978 and had a similar purpose, except the focus was tri-service.  The culmination was the formation in late 1980 of the SAIA Automated Test Committee, a permanent activity to maintain a focus on military automated test.  This activity is still vibrant and functioning, as a Committee of the National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA, successor to the NSIA) Systems Engineering Division.

The Professional Achievement Award was established in Frank McGinnis' memory and honor to recognize managers or professionals in the STE industry who have demonstrated long-term leadership in the field.  The Award is a renaming of the former AUTOTESTCON "Man Of The Year" award.  The award is presented at the AUTOTESTCON awards luncheon by the AUTOTESTCON Board Chair or Vice-Chair.  The Award includes a check in the amount of $2,000 and a prize item.


The McGinnis Professional Achievement Award is sponsored by the Board of Directors of IEEE AUTOTESTCON.

Award Criteria

  • Nominees must have clearly demonstrated outstanding professional leadership in the ATE field spanning a career
  • Nominees should have visibility to the outside world, beyond the normal functional duties of his/her organization
  • Demonstrated accomplishments should have significant impact across the automated test community
  • Nominees should have visible participation in IEEE AUTOTESTCON
  • Nominations may be submitted by any individual, regardless of affiliation
  • Nominations should be accompanied by a short biographical sketch, along with a short (300-500) word summary
  • Recommendation

Nomination & Balloting Process

  • Nominations are solicited each year by the AUTOTESTCON Board of Directors via a variety of means, including AUTOTESTCON attendees, AUTOTESTCON exhibitors, AUTOTESTCON Board Sponsoring Societies (I&M, AESS) and their magazines, various technical publications, AUTOTESTCON mailing and e-mail lists, personal contacts, etc.
  • Once nominations are received and screened to assure compliance with the established Criteria and Eligibility regulations, a final slate is prepared and submitted to the Board members for balloting.
  • Selection and notification of the award winner is completed in time to meet the AUTOTESTCON Proceedings publication deadline.


  • The McGinnis Award may only be received once by the same individual.  The former "AUTOTESTCON Man of the Year" is considered the predecessor award to the McGinnis award, and recipients of this award are included in this eligibility determination.  Prior recipients are listed below.
  • Only those individuals who have been active within the past two years shall be eligible for the award.
  • Current members of the Board of Directors are not eligible for this award.

Award Notification
The Agent of the Board informs the AUTOTESTCON Board Chairman of balloting results, and in turn the awardee is notified to help assure his/her attendance at the current AUTOTESTCON.  The awardee will be asked to submit a current photograph and biographical sketch to the Agent by 1 July of the current AUTOTESTCON year to allow publication in the Proceedings and the Conference Program.

Nominations for the Frank McGinnis award can be filled out with the following Nomination Form.  Please return form to:

Jim Leonard at or to
Judy Scharmann at

or to
Jim Leonard
IEEE AUTOTESTCON Board of Directors
12 Huntington Forest Ct. - E
St. Charles, MO 63301
Phone:  314-777-1932


  • Nomination package:  31 May 2010
  • Biographical Sketch and Photo (winners only):  1 July 2010

Frank McGinnis Award Winners
2009 - Leslie A. Orlidge
2008 - Peter H. Williamson
2007 - John W. Sheppard
2006 - Joseph C. O'Connell, Jr.
2005 - Donald Kump
2004 - William Ross
2001 - John Roche
1999 - Fred Liguori
1998 - Howard Savage
1997 - Robert G. Mager
1996 - Wright A. "Andy" Nodine
1995 - Milton G. Slade
1994 - Michael T. Ellis
1993 - John Colgan
1992 - Robert C. Rassa
1991 - Charles Scaturo
1990 - James A. (Bert) Houston
1989 - Oscar W. Sepp
1988 - Bernard P. Gollomp
1987 - Lee C. Paulson
1986 - Paul Giordano
1985 - Oliver T. Carver

Man of the Year Winners
1984 - Patrick M. Toscano
1981 - Bernard P. Gollomp
1980 - David M. Goodman
1979 - Fred Liguori